SLOW COOKER THURSDAY–Meatless Stuffed Peppers

 

I haven’t participated in the Slow Cooking Thursday for a while…..I’m looking forward to using my crockpot more often again as the temps outside continue to drop and I’m making more crockpot type foods…..less salads and sandwiches and quick cooking type meals.   To see lots more crockpot meals please visit Sandra’s blog by clicking on the beautiful picture above!

 

Today’s recipe is in honor of our veggie daughter.   Something that she would enjoy that isn’t stirfry or pasta, and that would pass the meat eater’s palates without missing the meat!

 

This recipe is from familyfun.com (I just LOVE that website! 🙂 )

 

 Meatless Stuffed Peppers

These rice and vegetable stuffed peppers are versatile: Whole peppers can be presented as a colorful main dish, halves as a vegetable accompaniment to grilled meats or fish.

2 large green bell peppers
2 large red bell peppers
1/2 cup converted white rice  (I use partially cooked long grain brown rice)
1 15 1/4-oz. can whole kernel corn, drained  (I use 1 1/2 cups frozen corn with no salt added)
1 2 1/4-oz. can sliced ripe olives, drained
3 scallions, chopped
1/4 tsp. seasoned salt
1/4 tsp. garlic pepper
1 14 1/2 oz. can cut-up peeled tomatoes
1/3 cup dry red wine
1 6-oz. can tomato paste

Step 1
Slice the tops off the green and red bell peppers and carefully remove the seeds and inner ribs. Remove the stems from the tops and chop the remaining pepper pieces. Stand the peppers upright in a 5-quart electric slow cooker.

Step 2
In a medium bowl, combine the chopped pepper tops, rice, corn, olives, scallions, seasoned salt, garlic pepper and 1/2 cup of the tomatoes with their liquid. Mix well. Stuff the peppers with the corn mixture, dividing evenly and packing lightly. Mix the remaining tomatoes and their liquid with the wine and tomato paste until well blended. Pour over and around the peppers in the slow cooker.

Step 3
Cover and cook on the Low heat setting 6 1/2 to 7 hours, or until the rice is cooked and the peppers are tender but still hold their shape.

 

 

This entry was posted in Kitchen, Slow Cooker Thursday. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SLOW COOKER THURSDAY–Meatless Stuffed Peppers

  1. sandra says:

    LOVE stuffed peppers, I can not wait to try this one 🙂

  2. Cheri says:

    I love stuffed peppers and this sounds really different and really good! My daughter would absolutely love the olives in there.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog-I’ll be stopping back by yours as well!

    Cheri

  3. Hi Lori,
    Thanks I try and make 1 meatless meal a week.
    Hugs,
    Elizabeth

  4. sounds delicious!! I can smell them cooking right now.

  5. annie says:

    Happy Thursday!
    Sounds yummy!
    *´¨)
    ¸.·´¸.·*¨) ¸.·*¨)
    (¸.·´ (¸.·â?? * Annie *

  6. Pam says:

    Oh Wow! I need to start doing Slow cooker Thursdays – though my slow cooker day needs to be Tuesdays!!! Think anyone would mind? LOL!

Leave a comment